Assemblymember Salas Named Legislator of the Year

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

CA Massage Therapy Council Awards Salas for regulatory leadership

SACRAMENTO – Today, Assemblymember Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield) received the Legislator of the Year award for the 2016 legislative session from the California Massage Therapy Council (CAMTC).  Salas was recognized for his exemplary leadership as the author of AB 2194 and as Chair of the Assembly Committee on Business and Professions.

"I am honored to receive this distinguished award and thank the California Massage Therapy Council for this recognition," said Assemblymember Salas (D-Bakersfield).  “Together, we were able to craft meaningful policy that will protect consumers and enable certified therapists to continue to play a vital healing role in our local communities.”

“All Californians should be proud of the work done by Assemblymember Salas,” said California Massage Therapy Council Chair, Mark Dixon.  “Assemblymember Salas’ leadership, personal engagement, and command of understanding the issues that impact the safety and quality of life for many Californians is why we've named him Legislator of the Year.  We share the same goals and commitment to protecting the public.” 

The CAMTC board unanimously selected Salas because of his willingness to carefully work on complex massage regulatory issues which continue to further define California's leadership in protecting consumers and local communities.  AB 2194 extended the California Massage Therapy Counsel until 2021 and amended the Massage Therapy Act to bolster consumer protections and provide solutions to issues raised in the 2014 review of the CAMTC. 

The Legislator of the Year is an annual award given by the Massage Therapy Council to lawmakers who show exemplary leadership on matters of public importance. Past legislators to receive recognition were Senator Lou Correa, Senator Curren Price Jr., and Assemblywomen Susan Bonilla. 


Assemblymember Salas represents part of the City of Bakersfield, the cities of Arvin, Avenal, Corcoran, Delano, Hanford, Lemoore, McFarland, Shafter, Wasco, and the communities of Armona, Buttonwillow, Home Garden, Kettleman City, Lamont, Lost Hills, Stratford and Weedpatch.

CONTACT: Teodoro Martinez, (916) 319-2032