Salas Recognizes Superintendent Rosalina Rivera of Delano


32nd Assembly District Woman of the Year

SACRAMENTO - Assemblymember Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield) honored Rosalina Rivera of Delano at the State Capitol where she attended the 7th Annual California Hall of Fame awards. In 2007, Ms. Rivera was named Superintendent of the Delano Joint Union High School District.

Under her leadership, the Delano Joint Union High School District has received numerous academic honors, including: California Distinguished Schools Awards (Cesar E. Chavez High School and Delano High School); California School Board Association Golden Bell Awards (Delano High School); U.S. News and World Report Nation's Best High School Awards (Cesar E. Chavez High School, Delano High School, and Robert F. Kennedy High School); and National Title I Distinguished School Award (Cesar E. Chavez High School).

Rosalina Rivera is being recognized for her service and advocacy on behalf of the Delano community. Ms. Rivera joined Assemblymember Salas in the recognition of Dolores Huerta, labor activist and co-founder of the United Farm Workers, at the Governor's Hall of Fame awards, last night. Ms. Huerta is one of seven inductees, joining, Gregory Bateson, Warren Beatty, Charles and Ray Eames, Ishi, Joe Montana and Warner Bros.

"Rosalina has always been a strong advocate for education and is unwavering in her commitment to the children and the community of Delano," stated Assemblymember Salas.

Assemblymember Salas represents part of the City of Bakersfield, the cities of Arvin, Hanford, Corcoran, Delano, Lemoore, McFarland, Shafter, Wasco, and the communities of Armona, Avenal, Buttonwillow, Kettleman City, Lamont, Lost Hills, Stratford and Weedpatch.

CONTACT: Yolanda Sandoval, (916) 319-2032