Salas Recognized as Legislator of the Year


California Police Chiefs Association applaud Salas’ focus on public safety

SACRAMENTO – Assemblymember Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield) was selected by the California Police Chiefs Association as Legislator of the Year for 2014.

“I’m glad to have been able to successfully fight to keep our neighborhoods safe and secure,” said Assemblymember Salas.  “It’s an honor to be selected as Legislator of the Year by the California Police Chiefs Association for my work on public safety.”

In selecting Assemblymember Salas for this award, the California Police Chiefs Association took particular note of Assemblymember Salas’ thoughtful and solid record of supporting law enforcement measures that improve the safety and security of families throughout the state.  

To combat public safety issues in his district and across the state, Assemblymember Salas introduced legislation such as his Sweepstakes Internet Gambling Café bill (AB 1439). With the support of the California Police Chiefs Association, the legislation successfully passed last year and was signed by the Governor.

“The California Police Chiefs Association is privileged to present the Legislator of the Year award to Assemblymember Rudy Salas,” said Chief David Bejarano, President. “Last year, Assemblymember Salas authored and orchestrated the successful passing of AB 1439, our sponsored Sweepstakes Internet Gambling Café bill. Getting legislation like this introduced and passed is critical for the safety of our communities and we appreciate Assemblymember Salas’ leadership in this regard,” added Chief Bejarano. “The Police Chiefs in California work hard to protect public safety and we are honored to recognize Assemblymember Salas as a strong ally in these efforts.”

Assemblymember Salas will be recognized for his contributions at the Police Chiefs’ Legislative Day during a special ceremony on April 30th in Sacramento.

Assemblymember Salas represents part of the City of Bakersfield, the cities of Arvin, Avenal, Corcoran, Delano, Hanford, Lemoore, McFarland, Shafter, Wasco, and the communities of Armona, Buttonwillow, Home Garden, Kettleman City, Lamont, Lost Hills, Stratford and Weedpatch.