Deputy Sheriff Allen Sharra Honored with Memorial Highway

Friday, December 20, 2019

Deputy Sheriff Allen Sharra Honored with Memorial Highway


LEMOORE – Today, Assemblymember Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield) joined law enforcement and community members in Kings County to officially unveil the Kings County Deputy Sheriff Allen Thomas Sharra Memorial Highway. Assemblymember Salas authored Assembly Concurrent Resolution 38 (ACR 38) earlier this year that officially designated a portion of State Route 41 in Kings County to honor the sacrifice of Deputy Sheriff Sharra who tragically lost his life during an accident in the line of duty on December 27, 1999. This year marks the 20th anniversary of Deputy Sheriff Sharra’s passing.


“I am pleased that our community has come together to create this memorial highway to honor Deputy Sheriff Sharra,” said Assemblymember Salas. “Mr. Sharra dedicated his life to the service of his country and community, first as a Navy veteran and later as a Deputy Sheriff for the City of Hanford. With the renaming of State Route 41, we will continue to remember Deputy Sheriff Sharra’s sacrifice and his many contributions to Kings County.”


Deputy Sheriff Sharra served in the Navy as an avionics mechanic stationed at the Naval Air Station in Lemoore. In 1993, Deputy Sheriff Sharra became a reserve police officer for the City of Huron and was later hired by Sheriff Ken Marvin of Kings County after completing the police academy.


“It’s an honor to be part of the effort led by Assemblyman Salas to recognize Kings County Deputy Sheriff Allen Sharra as we honor him on the 20th Anniversary of his line of duty death,” said Sheriff David Robinson of the Kings County Sheriff Department. “This freeway dedication will be a reminder for years to come of his ultimate sacrifice.”


At the unveiling, Assemblymember Salas was joined by law enforcement officials, community members, and local elected officials including Senator Melissa Hurtado, Sheriff David Robinson, Senior Deputy Sheriff Nate Ferrier, and family members of Deputy Sheriff Allen Thomas Sharra.



Assemblymember Salas represents part of the City of Bakersfield, the cities of Arvin, Hanford, Corcoran, Delano, Lemoore, McFarland, Shafter, Wasco, and the communities of Armona, Avenal, Buttonwillow, Home Garden, Kettleman City, Lamont, Lost Hills, Stratford and Weedpatch.