Blessing Corner Recognized as Local Nonprofit of the Year

Salas Back to School Drive

BAKERSFIELD – Assemblymember Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield), honored Blessing Corner Ministries and their nonprofit organization, the Greater Lighthouse Community Outreach, Inc, as the 2020 Nonprofit of the Year. Based on their selfless community work in the Central Valley, including food programs, job training, peer mentoring, rehabilitation services, back to school drives, and educational classes, Blessing Corner stands out as a pillar of the community that helps thousands of families every year.

“I am thrilled to honor Blessing Corner as our local nonprofit of the year,” said Assemblymember Salas. “During these tough times, I am thankful that we have such an amazing organization to lend a helping hand to families in our community. Whether it’s back to school drives, food programs, or mentoring our youth, Blessing Corner continues to make life better for countless families in the Valley.”

This is the fifth year of the California Nonprofit of the Year initiative, and with nonprofits doing more than ever to help their communities weather this COVID-19 crisis, their work should rightfully be celebrated.

“We are absolutely humbled by this honor that Assemblymember Salas has bestowed upon us for the work that we do,” said Bonnie Gillette-Turner, Executive Director of Blessing Corner. “Since 1996, The Blessing Corner has been providing opportunities to enrich indigent lives through provision of basic human services; via a network of our resources to offer HOPE.  Although we started out serving just the indigent, God has shown us that there are times that even working people need some help to make it to the next paycheck, and we are providing that service as well. Our all volunteer run outreach has always been empowered by local families and corporate supporters that allows us to offer: Ministry Work in Action, FOR ALL!"


Assemblymember Salas represents part of the City of Bakersfield, the cities of Arvin, Hanford, Corcoran, Delano, Lemoore, McFarland, Shafter, Wasco, and the communities of Armona, Avenal, Buttonwillow, Home Garden, Kettleman City, Lamont, Lost Hills, Stratford and Weedpatch.