Assemblymember Salas Celebrates Vaccine Clinics Across the Valley

Salas on Vaccine Visit to the Distirct

BAKERSFIELD, CA – Today, Assemblymember Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield) visited with frontline health workers, community members, and local leaders at vaccine clinics in Arvin, Wasco, and Delano, celebrating the 34,000 vaccine doses that were secured for the Central Valley.

“It is great to see the extra 34,000 doses coming to the Valley and being used to vaccinate our frontline workers, seniors, farmworkers, and teachers,” said Assemblymember Salas. “We are continuing to work hard to bring more vaccination sites to the Valley and highly encourage people to follow the science and get vaccinated so that we can protect our loved ones and neighbors.”

Last week, Assemblymember Salas joined Governor Newsom in Fresno to celebrate the additional 34,000 doses coming to the Central Valley to vaccinate food and agricultural workers. The state and county partners have launched 11 new Central Valley vaccination sites, which has helped increase vaccine allocations to the Valley by almost 60 percent. Additionally, California has expanded its statewide network of community-based organizations providing COVID outreach and education. In total, $52.7 million has supported 337 community-based organizations throughout the state.

As the vaccine rollout continues, 40 percent of all COVID-19 vaccine doses will be sent to the communities hit hardest by the pandemic. The state will send a large share of the vaccine supply to local counties, which will then distribute the doses to health providers, physicians and community health clinics that work with underserved neighborhoods.

Kern and Kings County are both vaccinating residents who are age 65+ or individuals that work in Healthcare, Food & Agriculture, Education, and Emergency Services.

To check eligibility for the COVID-19 vaccine or to make a vaccination appointment, visit:


Assemblymember Salas represents part of the City of Bakersfield, the cities of Arvin, Hanford, Corcoran, Delano, Lemoore, McFarland, Shafter, Wasco, and the communities of Armona, Avenal, Buttonwillow, Home Garden, Kettleman City, Lamont, Lost Hills, Stratford and Weedpatch.