Joint Legislative Audit Committee Nominates Three Individuals to be the Next State Auditor

Governor to Select Among the Three JLAC Nominees


SACRAMENTO, CA – Chair Salas and Vice Chair Laird of the Joint Legislative Audit Committee (JLAC) are proud to announce the nomination of three individuals to be the next California State Auditor. The three nominees are Benjamin Belnap, Deputy State Auditor (California State Auditor’s Office); Grant Parks, Principal Manager of Audit Services (Judicial Council of California), and Courtney Ruby, City Auditor (City of Oakland). The Governor will appoint one of the three to lead the nonpartisan California State Auditor’s Office. The appointee will succeed former California State Auditor Elaine Howle, who retired at the end of 2021.

The selection of the three nominees concludes a bipartisan, bicameral, nationwide search conducted by the Joint Legislative Audit Committee and the Subcommittee on the Selection of the State Auditor. The members of the Subcommittee included Chairman Salas, Assemblymembers Rubio and Voepel, Vice Chairman Laird, and Senators Leyva and Nielsen.

“No other position brings more transparency or accountability to government than the position of California State Auditor,” said Assemblymember Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield). “Elaine Howle served Californians well in this position over the past 21 years, and one of these three nominees will continue this vital role of uncovering waste, fraud and abuse while bringing transparency and accountability to state and local government. I believe each of these nominees has the capacity to continue the legacy of independence, strength and accountability at the State Auditor’s Office.”

“The State Auditor is a crucial role for the transparent, effective operation of state government and functions as a vital, independent voice to ensure Californians’ business is done properly,” said State Senator John Laird (D-Santa Cruz). “The candidates we are forwarding to the Governor for consideration all hold true to the importance of having an effective, independent State Auditor.”


Assemblymember Salas represents part of the City of Bakersfield, the cities of Arvin, Hanford, Corcoran, Delano, Lemoore, McFarland, Shafter, Wasco, and the communities of Armona, Avenal, Buttonwillow, Home Garden, Kettleman City, Lamont, Lost Hills, Stratford and Weedpatch.